Fire Danger prevents access to some sections of the Heysen Trail.

Walkers are asked to observe extension of the fire danger season.

Extended closure of the Heysen Trail between Cape Jervis & Tanunda until 15 May 2018.

The Country Fire Service (CFS) has extended the Fire Danger Season for the Mount Lofty Ranges. This is due to lower than average rainfalls combined with higher than average temperatures.

This means that access to most sections of the Heysen Trail south of Tanunda will not be open until May 15, 2018.

You are advised to defer walks in these areas until further notice.

You can find information about the extension of the fire danger season in the Mt Lofty Ranges District on the CFS website.

Mid North District Fire Ban Season to End on April 30

The CFS has confirmed that fire restrictions affecting the section of the trail north of Tanunda  and south of the Wirrabara Forest will end on April 30.

Limited access to the Heysen Trail south of Wirrabara

Some sections of the Heysen Trail in the fire districts south of Wirrabara (near Laura) may still be open to walkers prior to the cessation of the fire danger periods.

The sections that remain open are principally those not on private land. These include public roads, Conservation Parks and Reserves, Forests and vacant land.

Please note that Conservation Parks and Reserves and Forests are closed on days of Total Fire Ban. The CFS publishes these bans, as does the Bureau of Meteorology. In addition, the media also broadcast weather reports including fire ban information.

If you want to walk on the trail, check which Fire District you will be in. The Fire Districts are listed on the Fire Danger Season page of the Friends website.

We strongly advise you to respect the rights of landholders. Please restrict any activity which may increase the risk of fire in this period.

Flinders Fire Ban Season Ends

Fire restrictions in the Flinders District have been lifted, meaning the Heysen Trail is now open north of Wirrabara Forest .

This section includes Melrose, Wilmington, Quorn, Hawker, Wilpena Pound, the Ikara-Flinders Ranges National Park through to the northern end of the trail at Parachilna Gorge.

Details of the Fire Ban Districts can be found on the Interactive Map.