Loading Events

« All Events

Clare Valley Wine & Wilderness Trail

Sat 31 Aug 2024 to Sat 7 Sep 2024

Walk name/location
Clare Valley Wine & Wilderness Trail
Walk grade
Extended Walk 2
Description

The Clare Wine and Wilderness Trail was completed in 2023 and is a 100km tail around the Clare Valley, traveling on a network of backroads, road reserves & private property. It is graded as a moderate hiking trail comprising of 6 stages.

We will walking during bud-burst so we will see the vines are awakening from their winter dormancy.

Included in Package

This packaged extended walk includes bus fares, a walk fee (Golden Boots does not apply), welcome drinks and nibbles and a final celebration dinner to be held at

Accommodation

Participants will need to book their own accommodation. Cabins catering for a range of budgets and powered caravan sites have been reserved at the Discovery Park Clare Caravan Park and these will be held until the May 31.

Excluded

There will be an optional activity of a structured wine tasting for those interested in participating at an additional cost.

Walkers wishing to participate in wine tastings after each day’s walk do so at their personal cost and risk.

Overview of the week.

Saturday Aug 31          Welcome Gathering

Arrive in Clare and check into your accommodation meet your fellow walkers at a welcome gathering.

Sunday Sept 1              Stage 1 Clare to Armagh 23K

Monday Sept 2            Stage 2 Armagh to Spring Gully 19 K

Tuesday Sept 3            Stage 3 Spring Gully to Leasingham  13.5 K

Wednesday Sept 4      REST DAY

Thursday Sept 5           Stage 4 Leasingham to Auburn 14K

Friday Sept 6                 Stage 5 Auburn to Polish Hill River 16 K

Saturday Sept 7            Stage 6 Polish Hill River to Clare 14k

BIOSECURITY MEASURES – Please ensure you thoroughly clean your footwear, clothing, walking poles and other equipment before and after each walk to remove all seeds, dirt and other debris. Removed seeds should be bagged and disposed in a ‘to landfill’ garbage bin.

Start
Saturday 31 August 2024
End
Saturday 7 September 2024
Walk Leaders
Judy McAdam
Tracey Evans
Export to Calendars

Meeting Location

Meeting location details will be provided after you have registered for this event.

Details
Information withheld

Event Fees
Bus
AUD $250.00